Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in the State of California will increase to Nine Dollars ($9.00) per hour for hourly employees. Although there are some exceptions, almost all employees in California must be paid the minimum wage as required by state law.
There are some employees who are exempt from the minimum wage law, such as outside salespersons, individuals who are the parent, spouse, or child of the employer, and apprentices, pursuant to the State Division of Apprenticeship Standards.
Other exempt employees include learners, regardless of age, who may be paid not less than 85% of the minimum wage rounded to the nearest nickel during their first 160 hours of employment in occupations in which they have no previous similar or related experience; mentally and/or physically disabled employees; and nonprofit organizations such as sheltered workshops or rehabilitation facilities that employ disabled workers. Such individuals and organizations may be issued a special license by the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement authorizing employment at a wage less than the legal minimum wage. (See, Labor Code Sections 1191 and 1191.5)